ridewithin


Kripalu Days
June 30, 2008, 2:23 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I am at Kripalu now. If you don’t know about Kripalu check it out www.kripalu.org. I arrived last Thursday.

After the Bhakti Tirtha Swami festival, HH Radhanath Swami went to Chicago and I went to Kripalu. Actually I hung out in Gita Nagari for a number of hours and ate pancakes at Mother Tarunis house then went to Spruce hill Lunch with the New Vrindavan crew for sandwhiches and soft serve ice cream cones. Then I played with Venu Madhava and Madhumati for an hour or more as Deva Deva looked on in amazement that her children could come so close to getting really hurt.

When I was fully disqualified for a safe afternoon drive I hit the road. I was going to drive the full distance to Massachusetts but opted for an evening with VBD and Krishnagi in Clifton New Jersey. There we did our usual, shopping, eating, and talking about sharing Krishna Consciousness in the Universities. I love them very much as they have become such close family.

On Thursday after a full morning of japa, and shopping I drove up to Kripalu. I headed over to Derek’s house for dinner, America’s Funniest Home Videos, and a great night of sleep.

Friday Morning I chanted my japa at his estate, shaved my head, and ate almighty left overs after my primary series yoga session. I lazily made it over to Kripalu by 3 to check in. I am in hill house this time. It is a very nice place. It is a building about 1/4 mile from the main center so it is quiet. It is also newly remodeled for the semester intensive program they have here. University students can come and live here and study for a semester for full University credit. So this is where they live. Fortunately I brought my fixy so I can ride from my room to the main building in 1 and a 1/2 minutes. I am very glad I brought it. On Friday I also walked down to the lake to read before the sun set and chant Gayatri. I returned to my room around 9:30 or so and very soon my roommate Toshiro arrived. He is a senior yoga teacher in Tokyo. So humble and very appreciative. I couldnt ask for a better roommate.

On Saturday I had my first meeting with the teacher training directors and assistants. We organized our individual teaching schedules and overall plan of action for the next month. We met once more after lunch the I drove over to Steyvasant Falls New York to play Mridanga for a Kirtan Program at Karuna Shakti Yoga Studio with Keli Lalita Devi and Raghunath Prabhu. Check their site here at www.karunashakti.com. I stayed the night with Raghunath, Bridgette, Saci, and Rocco then in the morning went to a vinyasa class with Bridgette at Sadhana Yoga Center in Hudson New York http://sadhanayogahudson.com/. Today is Ekadasi so Bridgette made an amazing blueberry shake for me to take as I got lost driving back to Kripalu for my 2pm meeting. Our teacher Training stared this evening so Ill fill you in on that soon enough. That will be my world for the next month. Wish me luck!


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

What’s a fixy?

Comment by Madhava Gosh




Leave a comment